Inspiration Board: 20-something Living Room Decor

I’m 22, full time employee, part time student, and again I’m 22. I wanted to remind myself of that every second for the past week. Why? Because choosing decor for my new place has been a pain. My bedroom is okay, can use some work, but it’s okay. I know where I’m going and I got my color scheme down to a T.  Since I am now moving out to my own place I have to put some thought into the rest of an apartment (living room, dining room, kitchen, etc.). That’s where my creative juices stopped flowing. What did I want my guest to see when they walked in was my biggest fear. Did I want to say “Hi, I’m an adult now… no pink allowed here!” or “Hey!!! I’m going to decorate this place like the power puff girls live here!”. You get my dilemma, right? Okay, maybe I’m overreacting a bit.

I can proudly say, I have found a color scheme I am TOTALLY happy with. It’s still fun and colorful, but has some basics to bring the mood down a bit. I have created an inspiration board of what I want my living room to look like. Now, these are only the basics.

Living Room Basics

Living Room Basics by jnevarez featuring black lacquer shelves

Can I just say I am in LOVE with these colors. I definitely have grown to love blue and all of it’s shades. I chose blue as the main focus for my living room. Because of that I will make the media center blue, since it will be the biggest and strongest piece of furniture. I decided to keep the couch a solid neutral. The couch will be dressed with throw pillows. I also decided to keep the coffee table a strong neutral color because of the yellow/mustard area rug, which I am already drooling at the thought of having and I want those two to get along well. This inspiration board was created only for the colors. I felt the color scheme was the hardest part here. I will definitely write a post once I move in and begin decorating with more info on the pieces of furniture I’ve chosen and some DIYs I have in mind already. 
Now, don’t think I came up with this color scheme all on my own. I had some help from my lovely Pinterest community. I just recently found this gem of a pin and fell in love with all the colors. 
I hope you all enjoy this color scheme as much I do. If you have any suggestions or comments please let me know! All comments are welcomed as I need lots of help. Follow me on Polyvore for more inspiration boards. 
Leave a Reply

